Disdain For Social Media Attention-Seeking

Whenever there is news of a crisis or tragedy posted on social media, there is always an immediate onslaught of people who feel the need to post their connection to the event, no matter how distant or irrelevant, simply to seek attention for themselves.

Screw the people that got shot and killed by a lone shooter, let's make it all about me! Let's fill the queue of comments with poignant phrases, such as:

I...I...I...Me...Me...Me

Literally every unfortunate event has comments such as these. Give me attention because I am related to this event by x. It's disgusting.

Why is there even a reason to comment? There is no need to comment on tragedy. Canned comments related to “thoughts and prayers” are so common, they are meaningless and require zero action, or even actual thoughts and prayers on the part of the comment author.

Read the news, understand it and move on. There is rarely a relevant comment that is worth posting on a public forum. #thoughtsandprayers #attentionseeking