Uncommon Thoughts Of The Once Common

I am a female from the X generation. At one time, I was not so uncommon.

I have never been extremely liberal or conservative, nor have I ever been political. I was raised Catholic, but I am not religious. My childhood prepared me for a world that is rapidly ceasing to exist, and my disappointment is increasing.

I question many things, up to and including the reality that is presented to me. I feel that the freedoms I was brought up to believe I had are not real and are rapidly slipping away. I believe that in a different generation, they were real.

I am burdened by the reality that surrounds me, and the heartbreak and disappointment that it creates within me.

The Uncommon is not about me. I am not special. Neither are you.

The Uncommon is about those of us who I feel are losing our voice, our freedom of speech and labeled “oppressors”. I am not an oppressor. I am not depressed and I am not angry. I don't hate anyone, any group or any lifestyle, even if I don't choose it for myself or agree with it.

I am simply disappointed with modern societal expectations and the attack on not only freedom of speech, but what I feel is an attack on freedom of thought.